Organizing Clothes 

In front of the mirror, by the sink, I lathered a cream using my pointing and middle fingers I generously    squeezed out a tube on my left palm . Once I was sure that the cream was foamy enough, I gently apply the foam onto my wet face. The facial wash we just bought from Watsons must have a cooling effect, I thought, as I thoroughly massage the foam on my cheeks, forehead and shin. I opened my mouth enough to say “Refreshing!” and tasted the now dripping foam on my lips. “But why does it taste sweet?” I mumbled. It was then that I realised that my face was covered with the toothpaste. “Darnnn!”

Oh yes! that was not the only time I put myself in a very funny situations. I used facial wash as toothpaste, went to the gym wearing tank top inside out and handed a hundred pesos to a cashier thinking it was a thousand. To avoid such mistakes, I learn to be extra organised. I know it is fine to ask when I need to, but it’s still better to be self-reliant..

Organising clothes

First, I streamlined the number of clothes and keep only the ones that fit me well, not faded nor worn out, or the ones that I use frequently including my favourite pieces. Sold almost 70 percent of my wardrobe, gave some  to my nephews and categorized the remaining clothes to Daily, Going-out and Beach wears. Daily wears includes lounge shirts and shorts, under garments, socks and gym outfits which are organised in separate drawers.  Going-out wears are outfits that worn outside. This are thick or dark coloured, and light or colourful shirts and pants for Rainy and Sunny days respectively. This way, it would be easy for mixing and matching. And Beach wears are light shirts, shorts and speedos since I really enjoy going to the beach. The first category of clothing are out in the drawers all year long, while the last two categories are often kept in the boxes  and only to be taken out to the closet when appropriate to the weather or occasion. Our closet was divided into two sides,  my side and Gilly’s side, where shirts are hanged and pants are folded neatly. At the lower side of the closet are small drawers where sunglasses, watches and smaller accessories are kept separately. By the door, outside the bedroom, are two stacks of drawers for Gilly and myself where shoes are arranged in frequency of use. The textures, pockets and buttons help me find which clothes I am looking for when I need to pick out something to wear. If I am caught in confusion between identical shirts, I hold them out in a well lighted place in the house or use colour identifier app in my iPhone to know their exact caller.

Other visually impaired people use the following labelling methods to easily identify their clothes:

  • Small brass “no rust” laundry pins to mark  clothing items.
  • Iron-on patches in various sizes and shapes.
  • Buttons or French knots.
  • A battery operated pen that record voice and play aloud the recordings when pointing it’s tip on the washable individually-coded stickers.
  • Small metal braille labels.

Although there are many ways to organise clothes, , it is important to make sure it reflects your unique needs and it should not complicates your life.

Leave a Reply

