iPhone Talks

“Your phone can talk!” Gilly exclaimed in excitement when he discovered that the iPhone can be utilized by the visually impaired with the help of its accessibility features. 
“It is Siri.” I answered. 
He was aware that I interact with Siri only to make calls or to inquire for the time. He borrowed my phone, navigated its settings and turned on the Voice Over function. 
A voice speaks ”Calendar. Notes. Music. Camera. Facebook.” as I slowly ran my thumb across the phone screen.
”Oh my gee!” My eyes opened wide as if I was unwrapping a present on Christmas day. I double tapped the screen and anticipated what’s going to happen. It activated the item that I was currently on. 
“Wow!” I was surprised, I felt my lips stretch from ear to ear. Eager to discover what other available gestures there are to control my iPhone fully, I immediately opened Safari.

    A finger flick left or right moves to the previous or next item on the screen.
    A finger flick up or down speaks/moves to the previous or next character/word/page etcetera depending on which option is in the rotor focus.
    Two fingers rotate clockwise or counter clockwise selects option in the rotor menu.
    Two-finger swipe up reads the items on the screen from top to bottom.
    Three-finger triple tap turns the screen curtain on. 
    Three-finger swipe up or down scrolls the pages.

Eventually, I learned more finger gestures one after the other by diligently searching through the web. Some of which are tricky but in general, it was easy and fun. Like any lesson in life, learning new things require hard work, focus and patience.
To give you a head start on how you can use your iPhone with its Voice Over (VO) functionality, go to SAS.COM

“The adventure of life is to learn.
The purpose of life is to grow.
The nature of life is to change.
The challenge of life is to overcome.
The essence of life is to care.
The opportunity of like is to serve.
The secret of life is to dare.
The spice of life is to befriend.
The beauty of life is to give.”
― William Arthur Ward

Leave a Reply

